Spread the love

In this article readers are able to understand what is Regional Rural bank, History of Regional Rural bank and its ownership details. We also given the list of Regional Rural banks in India and their official websites.

What are Regional Rural Banks

What are Regional Rural Banks?

Regional Rural Banks (RRBs) are Scheduled Commercial Banks in India which are providing banking services in rural area in different States. The main objective of establishing RRB was to provide all banking and financial services to Rural area. However, RRBs may have branches set up for semi urban and urban areas for providing banking and credit services.  

History of Regional Rural Banks

Regional Rural Banks were established on the recommendations of Narshimha Committee on Rural Credit during the year 1975. Further, They were established under the RRB Act 1976 to provide sufficient banking and credit facility for agriculture and other rural sectors. As a result, Five Regional Rural Banks were set up on 2 October 1975, Gandhi Jayanti.

Ownership of Regional Rural Bank

The Regional Rural Bank were owned by the Central Government, the State Government and the Sponsor Bank who held shares in the following ratios

  • Central Government – 50%
  • State Government – 15%
  • Sponsor Banks – 35%

What is Scheduled Regional Rural Bank?

The Regional Rural bank will be given scheduled bank status once they commence their operations, and found suitable as per Section 42 (6) (a) of the Reserve Bank of India Act, 1934.

List of Regional Rural Banks in India

List of Scheduled Regional Rural Banks

After the amalgamation of many Regional Rural Banks, presently there are 43 RRBs functioning in India. The following are the list of RRBs and their official websites

S.NoName of the BankWebsites
1Andhra Pragathi Grameena Bankwww.apgb.in
2Chaitanya Godavari Grameena Bankwww.cggb.in
3Saptagiri Grameena Bankwww.saptagirigrameenabank.in
4Andhra Pradesh Grameena Vikas Bankwww.apgb.in
5Telangana Grameena Bankwww.tgbhyd.in
6Arunachal Pradesh Rural Bankwww.apruralbank.com
7Uttar Bihar Gramin Bankwww.ubgb.in
8Chhattisgarh Rajya Gramin Bankwww.cgbank.in
9Saurashtra Gramin Banksgbrrb.org
10Sarva Haryana Gramin Bankwww.shgb.co.in
11Himachal Pradesh Gramin Bankwww.hpgb.in
12Ellaquai Dehati Bankwww.edb.org.in
13J&K Grameen Bankwww.jkgb.in
14Karnataka Vikas Grameena Bankwww.kvgbank.com
15Madhyanchal Gramin Bankwww.mgbank.co.in
16Vidharbha Konkan Gramin Bankwww.vkgb.co.in
17Maharashtra Gramin Bankwww.mahagramin.in
18Manipur Rural Bankmanipurruralbank.com
19Meghalaya Rural Bankmeghalayaruralbank.co.in
20Mizoram Rural Bankwww.mizoramruralbank.in
21Nagaland Rural Bankwww.nagalandruralbank.com
22Utkal Grameen bankwww.utkalgrameenbank.co.in
23Odisha Gramya Bankodishabank.in
24Puduvai Bharathiar Grama Bankwww.puduvaibharathiargramabank.in
25Baroda Rajasthan Kshetriya Gramin Bankbrkgb.com
26Rajasthan Marudhara Gramin Bankwww.rmgb.in
27Tripura Gramin Bankwww.tripuragraminbank.org
28Uttarakhand Gramin Bankwww.uttarakhandgraminbank.com
29Bangiya Gramin Vikas Bankbgvb.in
30Paschim Banga Gramin Bankwww.pbgbank.com
31Uttarbanga Kshetriya Gramin Bankwww.ubkgb.org
32Kerala Gramin Bankkeralagbank.com
33Assam Gramin Vikash Bankwww.agvbank.co.in
34Baroda Gujarat Gramin Bankwww.bggb.in
35Dakshin Bihar Gramin Bankwww.dbgb.in
36Punjab Gramin Bankpgb.org.in
37Jharkhand Rajya Gramin Bankwww.jrgb.in
38Karnataka Gramin  Bankwww.kvgbank.com
39Madhya Pradesh Gramin Bankwww.mpgb.co.in
40Tamil Nadu Grama Bankwww.tamilnadugramabank.com
41Aryavart Bankwww.aryavart-rrb.com
42Prathama UP Gramin Bankprathamaupbank.com
43Baroda UP Bankwww.barodagraminbank.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *